cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
GwydionBowydd
New member
Status: New idea

My copy of Thunderbird is protected by a Master password, which ensures that you enter your password before Thunderbird launches.   However if you "CANCEL" at that point and do not enter your password Thunderbird STILL launches and existing e-mails can still be read.  If you try and send an e-mail the password will be required, but existing e-mails can still be read without entering the password.  This seems bizarre.
It would be better if Thunderbird doesn't launch at all if you press "CANCEL" at the password stage.  Thank you

4 Comments
Status changed to: New idea
Jon
Community Manager
Community Manager

Thanks for submitting an idea to the Mozilla Connect community! Your idea is now open to votes (aka kudos) and comments.

Ripples
Strollin' around

That default behavior is crazy! You get my vote! Surely your simple, yet great idea would be easy to implement?

I posted a semi-related idea for Thunderbird security and privacy here as well:

Password Protected Local Folders

Loneck
Strollin' around

Agreed with OP, I have no idea who designed it this way. As it is now, master password is basically useless feature. Mozilla devs please correct this issue.

Dgener
New member

Agree. It would be nice to not be able to open “stay logged in” websites not just passwords or remembered sites will need a master password. The other cached pages can auto delete when closing the page.