cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Firefox View a subversion of my privacy settings?

gargeug
Making moves

I just became aware of Firefox View and see a history of all of the pages I have visited in non-private mode. I have gone through all my privacy settings to get rid of this history in my address bar as our computer is shared amongst the family. Now I am surprised to find all I have to do is click the Firefox logo and see everywhere I have visited over the past few days. Financial documents, birthday shopping, etc. Places that should not be in a giant list for everyone to see!?!

It is a cool idea, but it should not be so invasive. It goes against everything that has kept me with Firefox through the years. How about we remove the history list?

1 REPLY 1

jscher2000
Collaborator

You could consider having each family member use a separate profile with its own data. For more information on that, see: https://support.mozilla.org/kb/profile-manager-create-remove-switch-firefox-profiles

But as long as you are sharing...

I think you a referring to the Recently Closed Tabs list. Firefox View provides a quicker way to access a list that you traditionally would access using either:

  • menu button > History > Recently Closed Tabs
  • (menu bar) History > Recently Closed Tabs

There is a way to reduce the number of closed tabs that Firefox remembers. Lowering that number increases the risk that you'll close a tab accidentally and not be able to reopen it. But if you want to try it, here's how you do it:

Here's how you can check on that:

(A) In a new tab, type or paste about:config in the address bar and press Enter/Return. Click the button accepting the risk.

More info on about:config: Configuration Editor for Firefox. Please keep in mind that changes made through this back door aren't fully supported and aren't guaranteed to continue working in the future.

(B) In the search box in the page, type or paste browser.sessionstore.max_tabs_undo and pause while the list is filtered

(C) Double-click the preference to display an editing field, and change the value from 25 to 3 (or whatever low number you think will be enough), then press Enter or click the blue check mark button to save the change.