cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Firefox 98 - PDF Dowload and view

roxpec
Making moves

Managing PDF downloads and viewing has become a big problem with version 89. I am a programmer who has been working on healthcare applications for a few years and there are scenarios where it is convenient to download and in others where it is convenient to preview the document. These scenarios vary from application to application, but also within the same application. So these types of behaviors should be left to whoever designs the application, not to the browser. Today I have a lot of pissed off customers because it is no longer possible to download a PDF file without previewing.

88 REPLIES 88

PCB
Making moves

I have a similar issue.  Much of my job consists of OPENING files from backend applications via the web.  Now I have to download them BEFORE I can view the contents.  Not everything needs to be saved but EVERYTHING I do must be viewed.  So far I have wasted an hour just trying to find out what I was doing wrong only to find out that some DA at Mozilla thought they knew what was best for EVERYONE!!!!  Not a good idea and if not corrected I WILL be switching browsers.

Any files you download will be immediately saved on your disk. Depending on the current configuration, they’ll be saved in your preferred download folder, or you’ll be asked to select a location for each download.

Previously files were placed in the temp folder - is the issue you're having that the temp folder was preventing specific issues with your set-up?

in previous versions you could open a pdf file DIRECTLY on a browser tab to view it through the firefox plugin. Now the file just downloads to the system "downloads" folder or whichever folder the user has configured FF to save files at, without giving you the option to view it while it LITTERS your downloads folder with files you don't need saved.
Genius..... NOT!