cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Thunderbird email hack using Sabre/Dav

nh19926
Making moves

I am using the Thunderbird mail program for some time and overall have been happy until tonight. I am not a programmer, but do have a good understanding of what is happening on my system.  I have built my own computers for a very long time, have my own server, and other things... playing with computers for probably the past 50+ years. I owned the HP-35 of about 1973, recall the SCAMP and the Altair systems.

Anyway, some hacker is using a Sabre/DAV program to modify the Thunderbird mail program as I found out tonight with a threat and extortion attempt, wanting me to pay via bitcoin.  This Sabre/Dav program that I am not familiar with is some kind of PHP program. This hacker was able to install his address:  https:// (youremail). com or what ever you use, using port 8443 (SabreDav).  What ever mail activity being used is sent thru  this port to him.  All mails and what you are doing.

It is installed on Thunderbird under: Account Settings for the specific mail program> Thunderbird Settings>Privacy and Security>Passwords>Saved Passwords.

When you access this area you will see where  the hack was installed. For example, it might look like: https://johndoe.de:8443(SabreDAV).   It is not any imap or smtp, or mail account.  I am sure there are some other mods but I have not found anymore so far.  I have deleted this "add-on" account, and also disabled the listening port he/she was using, both in-bound and out-bound.