cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Firefox 98 - PDF Dowload and view

roxpec
Making moves

Managing PDF downloads and viewing has become a big problem with version 89. I am a programmer who has been working on healthcare applications for a few years and there are scenarios where it is convenient to download and in others where it is convenient to preview the document. These scenarios vary from application to application, but also within the same application. So these types of behaviors should be left to whoever designs the application, not to the browser. Today I have a lot of pissed off customers because it is no longer possible to download a PDF file without previewing.

88 REPLIES 88

sifuchar
Making moves

The main reason we use Firefox at my company is that it would open PDFs in Acrobat using the temporary folder to hold the downloaded file.  We use A LOT of PDFs throughout the day that are downloaded through our web-based records system.  Chrome-based browsers do not have a good workaround for this, and end up junking up the download folder and requiring the user to go through and manually delete them.  Now with version 98 of Firefox, it does the same thing.  I have used the about:config to set browser.download.improvements_to_download_panel to false in order to give us a temporary reprieve, but I hope that Mozilla will reconsider this change or at least allow an opt-out in the settings.

• I understand that viewing a PDF necessarily downloads it, my problem is that the download used to go to a temporary folder that the OS cleans out periodically.
  • Firefox built-in PDF viewer does not have full functionality, particularly when the PDF has forms, so we are forced to use Acrobat to open the PDFs.
  • I know you can change the download location to the temporary folder, but then all the things you WANT to download go there.