cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Martinsfeedback
New member
Status: New idea

Just caused myself a tonne of grief and lost a load of critical data in one mistaken keypress

Wanting to delete a page for password and security purposes from my web history I've instead deleted everything to do with that site, how, because I clicked 'forget about this site' instead of 'delete page' in history (a very easy mis-click to make)

AND THERE IS NO UNDO OR ARE YOU SURE so it's a really poor user interface design 'feature' that permanently nukes everything in one shot you can't undo if it was a mistake

This needs an undo button as I have in one misclick cost myself hours and hours in lost shortcuts and timesavers revisiting frequently visited pages, stupid that in one click you can delete a load of stuff that can amount to hundreds of data points that you did not want to delete by mistake and cannot then undo if it was a mistake and you had just misclicked which is easy to do, oops, you've lost everything there, sorry

Update, there is a sort of 'are you sure' in the pop up so I must have 'auto pilot' clicked the confirm, the danger of the brain going into auto pilot mode when you've done something previously when it's not been a mistake, hence still needs something to catch that mistake and rectify when needed, but I guess also something to counter the security implications when you wouldn't want someone else to undo it.

1 Comment
Status changed to: New idea
Jon
Community Manager
Community Manager

Thanks for submitting an idea to the Mozilla Connect community! Your idea is now open to votes (aka kudos) and comments.