When I make a fresh install of thunderbrid, I would like to be asked if I want to setup the mail account data now or later.
Often I set up the thunderbird installation on a fresh system, but the user should install his account data himself or do it, when I am through with the installation steps of all other software.
I would therefore want to install thunderbird and select the option "install account data later", but at the time of writing, this option doesn´t exist or I don´t know where to find it.
If I e.g. make a secondary installation of thunderbird on a secondary client, that should only get the mail upon direct request, however leave the mail on the server, which is, said to say, not security standard of thunderbird in the first place, I would either have to remove the network cable which can be quite a fuss if you are disabled and can´t get your hands on it. So an option where I can choose to install acount data later would be very helpful.
And of course, it would be very helpful, if the "leave mail on server option" were set per default, so that accidentally downloading the complete mail contents from that account doesn´t manually have to be uploaded to that account again, which is a great deal of work too, by the way.
After all, testing if the entered account data is correct is a good idea, but only if the mails stay on the server.
That would be good practice. Maybe a popup can show, that testing the account data seemed to work, and the user may want to remove the flag "leave data on server", if desired.
If after testing the account data ist correct, the user can still manually change that flag to "delete mails on server" and use an addon to find duped mails and delete them locally. That is much less work than the other way around.