cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Permission "Access your data for all websites" - how can that be "safe"?

ddrinnan
Making moves

Hi,

I believe this is my first time ever posting here, so I apologize in advance if I make any errors (such as where to post this, how I present it, etc).

I was looking for a Firefox extension to help download videos, and am considering "Video DownloadHelper".  It appears to be very popular, and is "Recommended" by Mozilla.  The description of "Recommended" extensions includes the statement "They're examined from every angle to ensure they meet our strict policies, leaving no room for compromise".  And above that, is says that considering "Add-on Badges" (such as "Recommend") can be used "to protect your safety and privacy"

But the Video DownloadHelper says that it needs the "Access your data for all websites" permission.  And the description for that permission includes the statement that the extension "could read the content of any web page you visit, as well as data you enter into those web pages, such as usernames and passwords".... or presumably then - bank account numbers, Social Security numbers, investment information, thoughts on social issues, etc.

So - call me provincial (lol), but... how could an extension that has that type of ability ever be considered "safe", and/or "recommended"?

Even if the extension was thoroughly tested and things like that weren't happening 'yesterday', the extension would be ABLE to do it 'tomorrow' before anyone ever discovered that it was happening... if ever.

So, is anyone able to alleviate my concerns about that issue (or my interpretation of what I read)?

Thanks very much,

-dave

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

jscher2000
Leader

Like any app you install on your computer, phone, or tablet, you need to decide whether you trust the author with the access allowed. Here's how Mozilla helps: