cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Firefox Settings Design: Share Your Input!

AshleyT
Employee
Employee

Hi everyone, my name is Ashley Thomas, and I’m a Product Manager at Firefox. We are in the early stages of redesigning Firefox Settings to help our users discover ways to shape their browsing experience. It is important to us at Mozilla that Firefox users have agency in accessing the web, whether choosing a default search engine, enabling browser dark mode or tuning the privacy options. To achieve this, we plan to create:

• A modern, user-friendly design with intuitive navigation and search that will help you find and discover options that suit your needs.
  • Clear descriptions (and visuals as needed) of setting/configuration options that enable you to make informed choices.
  • An experience that highlights the value behind each feature and invokes a sense of confidence in using Firefox.

True to Mozilla’s roots, we are designing this in the open. Today, I’d like to share our latest concept for the Privacy & Security section on desktop to invite your input. We were thrilled to hear the excitement and positive feedback about our early designs in a recent Reddit thread and would love to continue that discussion here. This work is still in the early stages and may change before you experience it in the Firefox release as we iterate on internal and external feedback. 

Concept: Privacy & Security Settings

We’re updating the top-level categories to help users quickly find what they are looking for. You’ll see the new list on the left of the screen. The screenshots below are specifically for the “Privacy & Security” settings.