cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The unified extensions menu is not what i want from Firefox

H_Josie
Making moves

Created a Mozilla account just to post this. I've been using Firefox for many years on a few different devices, and i've always appreciated the overflow menu for its ability to store extensions. It shows me only what i want, in a compact, nice looking menu, and its icon looks nice next to the menu button. The unified extensions menu is everything the overflow menu isn't.

The unified extensions menu shows all of my extensions in an order i cannot change, including the ones which are passive or which i otherwise don't want to see unless i'm going out of my way to see them. It is large, clunky, and visually unappealing. The problem of it showing every extension i use is GREATLY exacerbated by this design choice- every extension is a large block, showing more information than i want to see, rather than a simple name and icon. I understand why this feature was implemented- it's compliant with manifest v3, simple, easy to use. But it's not well optimized. You can't even remove it from the toolbar.

Up until the 111 update, the option to restore overflow menu functionality was available through config, which i greatly appreciated. After the new update, this has been disabled, which is a shame. I would very much appreciate the ability to continue using the overflow menu for extensions in 111 and future versions.

11 REPLIES 11

leegregory4367
Making moves

THANK YOU!  I just created a chat window for this same subject. I am sick of having to adjust 20-30 settings in the settings tab and in about:config!  I can't type my two step verification codes into some pages because of the accessibility settings! Whenever I have to reset Firefox, which is at least once a week lately, I have to go through 20-30 settings just to get it up and running.